The sun is shining


It is warm outside. Sitting on the balcony, the sun burns my face. What a grand feeling: winter is now hopefully gone.

Changes

The past few weeks I lost my drive to post here. In business and private a lot changed. Soon I am going to be married – YIKES (even me!) and I am self-employed again. Still it is worthless without fitness…

Training

The past few weeks I had some longer runs. Actually I prefer to run at dawn or night and so the city looks a whole lot different. And sometimes – sometimes I have to shoot a picture, even though I didn’t have the drive to post, I still shot those for the blog.

Quelle Bad Homburg

Located in Bad Homburg is a natural fountain, which has been used for a long time. Later on through the park you arrive here…

Kurbark Bad Homburg

That run was exhausting but also fulfilling.

Milano

Much later I went on a trip to Milano with my fiance. Somehow I didn’t pack my running shoes and so all that was left was to explore the city day and night and… to go swimming.

Dome in Madrid
Milano was a grand experience, yet swimming im Milano was… an Italian experience. But judge yourself:

So I went to the public bath (I refrain to write about the overall oddities of the bath itself). Once in the pool swimming was well for me, actually I was the fastest swimmer on day 1.

That was not good.

So I was doing some long distance swim on my lane, yet the person in breast stroke I was about to pass didn’t like this. So that one tried to swim faster and kicked to all sides, while I tried to pass.

I couldn’t pass after being kicked twice.

At the end of the lane he immediately swam off in freestyle sprint. Well ok, exactly my speed. Suddenly I couldn’t see any more bubbles in front of me and didn’t see him at the end of the lane. Instead he was on his way back. WTF? That fast or was I that slow?

Again he was swimming breast stroke, again kicking. Again I couldn’t pass him.

At the end of the next lane he was waiting with red head, breathing heavily, apparently about to die, but letting me pass with a smile…

Turns out he cut the previous lane first, just to make sure he stays in front of me.

Italian $%/§&%%& – nuff said.

Back home

Then again swimming regularly helps. Since I returned from Milano I also added daily running in low pulse at dusk and at dawn apart from my regular training plan by Coach Ralf. To make sure I wont be injured like last year, I am massaged almost daily. So I am sure to have no hard, cramped or inflamed muscles at all. Even heavy training only leave me dizzy in worst case, but no more pain.

By now I have the chance to participate in London Triathlon, yet I need to enter by a charity WWF in my case.

Seriously would you donate, so I can participate in London? If some support it, I will.

Yet during all that time there was more.

German duathlon masters

We went there. First to give my fiance an impression of the atmosphere, second since I supported them I felt the need to be there on the day.

Duathlon Oberursel
The season to come

To face the truth I could have trained more till now, then again I feel happy and good besides the still existing excess kilos. If everything is as expected, I might start my first Triathlon this year in normal weight. The second maybe already in ideal weight.

Preparation

Of course you are right: How do I plan to achieve that target weight? Fair enough I finally changed my eating habits. A normal breakfast, a good and rich lunch and that’s it. Every day. On anything else running at dusk and dawn as well as my normal training plan.

4-5 kg a week works for me right now 🙂

And this way I leave you until my next post with the song I enjoy to listen while running

Yours truly

fatsmoker2ironman

Posted on May 11, 2012, in Eating, General, Running, Swimming. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Martin! I am so, so, sooo happy for you! Congratulations! Look at all you’ve accomplished in the past year. And the changes in life that come with your accomplishments. You should be so proud of yourself.

    Also, that picture of Milano is gor-geous! It’s on my list of places to go someday.

    Lastly, I nearly posted on here just yesterday to tell you the search and rescue teams were being deployed to go find our long lost Martin. 🙂

  2. YAY! I am so happy for you! Congrats to you and your fiancee. I wish you both a long lasting life of love and happiness.

    Good luck with all your training. I believe you are doing great!

  3. Glad to see you back Martin. And yes, big congrats!

  4. Welcome back we all need breaks every now & then. It just happens man! You are goona get your groove back! So congrats on getting hitched! How has the stop smoking stuff been going? Keep us updated on your London events. I’ve been raising money here & it’s hard, but doable & as social media savy as you are, you can raise that money!!

Leave a Reply

